On writing. And public speaking.

The two aren’t mutually dependent.

One of the most common complaints of writers these days is that you have to be a great marketer as well as a great writer to get attention for your work.  And by nature, many writers are recluses who prefer holing up with their craft but never want to see the light of day when it comes to promoting it. And while many assume that’s the role of an agent or a Presentationpublisher, it doesn’t really happen that way unless you’re J.K. Rowling or John Grisham or Amy Tan.

And while I’m not a recluse, public speaking isn’t really something I can depend on. I can capture an audience of friends with a good yarn or two, but it’s hit-or-miss with the nerves when it’s something bigger.

Thankfully, last night’s audience was limited and friendly for my first-ever author event because I was nervous. And I bumbled. And I had friends there who came to support me who had to be cringing just a bit. And Tom was there. And Tom is really good in front of a crowd.

It wasn’t horrible, but compared to what I can do with a keyboard, thesaurus and the backspace, it wasn’t good either.

But now that it’s 3 am and I’m wide awake again, I have a stellar presentation, a spot-on delivery and mic drop answers to all the questions I was asked. Too bad it’s just me in our dark family room with nothing but this scenario playing out in my head and my finger tips speaking to an illuminating screen, because I’m killin’ it, folks.

But no regrets. Better luck next time. And of course, there’s always the famous words of Juan Pablo: “Eeees okay.”

Leave a Reply

